Accomplishments

I had the proudest moment of my life thus far on Wednesday. Yes, in case you missed it: I was, and still am, really proud of myself. I accomplished something amazing. I helped plant a good attitude in someone.

I made some adjustments to one of my teens deadlifts. She is so good at keeping a neutral spine through most of her lifts but with this progression the back was an issue. Eventually I had to call it. She has struggled on things before and I always say “Good, we have something to work on!” and I am not sure she thinks this is good at all. Her look is usually a half-grin half-sneer. She likes to accomplish things.

But today, she put down the bar, looked at me with a smile (which was mostly sincere) and SHE said to ME “good, I know what I need to work on.” That, my friends, is a life skill that will serve her well in every aspect of her life.

After her session we were sitting on the floor and she talked on and on (a 15 year olds ability to talk is endless and to have someone who just listens is not just a gift to them, it is an honor for the listener). I pick up on “my sister…handstands…I wonder if I could?” Hell, why not? “Stop wondering and let’s see” I tell her. She is so close I suspect she can once she figures out the timing. And she asks me how often she can practice. A couple of times a week as long as it is just for fun.

She will not be me – my worst fear for any teenage girl – and I helped. I am doing my part to make sure she sees herself as the amazing girl she is, to see her potential and pursue it without defining herself by the failures that inevitably are a part of life.

Published by

warriorgirllifting

Lifting is my love. I think it is safe to say it is the only thing I have ever loved in this life. After 20 years of battling anorexia, this Warrior Girl started winning that battle the first time I touched a barbell. Loving something is a powerful thing.

3 thoughts on “Accomplishments”

  1. These moments are what make it all worth while 🙂 part of the reason I enjoy managing people is helping them find success. Also part of the reason I hope one day to get to help others realize their fitness potential as well 🙂 yeah, it’s about physical accomplishment, but the mental transformation that comes along with it is astonishing. so happy for you!! Thanks for sharing!!

Leave a comment