The Big Dance

My ladies are headed to the NCAA D3 tournament.  When I accepted the position of S&C coach I promised myself to enjoy every single moment. And then they won conference and a a bid to the tournament. This was an exceptionally great weekend!

My contract doesn’t include this week so when one of the ladies texted “so you’re coming Monday, right?” I wasnt sure. If Coach wants me, I’m there. Sometimes contracts should be damned. The ladies deserve it and I have earned my place to share this moment with them. 

I showed up early to watch some of practice. The grind of the season has been showing the last couple weeks but today none of it showed. I sat outside the gyms glass wall and when they saw me, even with balls flying towards them, they smiled, hopped and waved. And I enjoyed the moment. 

After conditioning 2 of the seniors stayed behind and gave me the play by play of the conference game – it went 5 sets, there was lots to tell. Senior year. Next year the world will try to eat them up but tonight they were little girls getting ready for the big dance. I loved it.

I have had 2 clients in the new studio and start full-time there tomorrow. My architect client has an idea that will give us extra head room (box jumps for 5 foot me are fine but most of my girls are 6 foot!). Yes there are challenges but 90% is great. I keep reminding myself the percentages were not nearly this favorable where I was and I now have the control to improve things. I do have to keep reminding myself “this isn’t the end set-up, this is only step 2” but for someone who struggles with the thought that things are not perfect, I AM struggling to with this moment in the process. I hope to get over that soon as this is a project that will be years in the making. 

Coach’s wife and I had a Christmas party Saturday: pjs, christmas movies and waffles. I remember when I had a coach that would yell at me for eating an apple and now I have one that sits down with us and eats waffles with strawberries, real whipped cream and glasses of 2% milk. It made me think: the interesting thing about moments is that they don’t last. Oh, sometimes they go on for years, but they never last. I so happy to be enjoying the present ones!

Published by

warriorgirllifting

Lifting is my love. I think it is safe to say it is the only thing I have ever loved in this life. After 20 years of battling anorexia, this Warrior Girl started winning that battle the first time I touched a barbell. Loving something is a powerful thing.

Leave a comment